Medical Marijuana Rules Proposed
As frequent followers of this page, you know that the medical marijuana regulations are now being developed. Here are the highlights from the proposed rules and regulations.
Read the full list HERE.
- Patients wanting to use medical marijuana in Ohio’s new program would have to pay a $50 annual fee for their membership card. The fee would be $25 for veterans or people who receive federal disability benefits.
- Caregivers and patients would register with the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy and receive an ID card to buy marijuana at retail dispensaries. The registration will likely take place at your doctor’s office.
- Up to 40 licenses for medical marijuana product manufacturers, called processors, would be available, under proposed rules. Processors would have to pay a $10,000 application fee and a $90,000 license fee. Renewal would cost $100,000 a year.
- Ohio’s medical marijuana law allows patients with 20 medical conditions to buy and use marijuana if recommended by a doctor.
- The law prohibits smoking and growing marijuana at home.
Public comment will be collected on both processor and patient and caregiver rules until 5 p.m. Feb. 10. Ohio’s medical marijuana law left most of the regulatory details, including how to license growers and register patients, to the Ohio Department of Commerce, Ohio State Board of Pharmacy and Ohio State Medical Board to decide over the next year.
I will follow all of the developments in the implementation of the law. When appropriate, I will ask you to voice your opinion to the decision makers. In addition, I will make sure to keep you up-to-date about how the proposals will impact the field of DUI, OVI, drugged driving. If you are in need of an attorney who focuses 100% of his practice to impaired driving defense, please call me at (937) 318-1384. You can call or text (937) 776-2671 twenty-four hours. “All I do is DUI defense.”