Arrested for OVI? Should You Blow?
When you are stopped on suspicion of DUI the question becomes – “Should You Blow?” Unfortunately, the answer is “maybe. ” The analysis involves a very complicated investigation of the facts of your case and your personal history. You should NEVER refuse the Breathalyzer test without understanding how a refusal would affect YOU. No attorney can know all of the circumstances of your arrest and your personal history. Always ask to speak to an attorney when making this decision.
Wondering if you still have a defense if you take the Breathalyzer test?
Here’s the test
Can you answer “TRUE” to ALL of the following questions? If so, you can politely DECLINE any police test(s) of your blood, breath, or urine with minimum impact. Be prepared and know your rights.
- I am an Ohio license holder, 21 years or older; AND
- I was not involved in an accident involving possible death or to serious injury to ANYBODY, even members of my family, pedestrians or passengers; AND
- I do not have a commercial driver’s license (CDL); AND
- No matter where I currently have a license to drive, I have hadno prior drunk driving convictionsor deferred pleas for DUI in ANY state within 6 years (from the date of conviction until now).
Should you blow? Refusing a chemical test like a Breathalyzer test can result in harsh penalties which includes a one-year license suspension and a longer period of time before you can get driving privileges. Your attorney can fight to get this reduced. In some courts your refusal may be held strictly against you and in others you may be able to get a reduced suspension despite your refusal.
In State v. Hill, 2009-Ohio-2468, the Appellate Court upheld the right of a trial court to enhance a penalty based on a refusal to take the chemical test. In most circumstances, a refusal to take a chemical test will result in a longer hard-time suspension (30 days rather than 15 days without any driving privileges). See the Automatic License Suspension for more information. You should also engage in an honest assessment of your alcohol consumption. If you risk testing over Ohio’s “super-OVI” threshold (over a .17% BAC) you may do harm by taking the test. Take these factors into account when making your decision to blow or not to blow.
CONTACT CHARLES M. ROWLAND II AT 937-318-1384
Should You blow, Now you know! Any criminal defense attorney would rather have less evidence against you rather than more, but giving blanket advice to refuse the chemical test is a mistake. Be prepared to make the best decision for you. You can also plan ahead by storing my contact information in your smart phone: (937)776-2671.
Justin TeagueMay 25, 2019 at 7:17 am
Ive been charged with dui i blew 1.22. Can you help me