a

Facebook

Twitter

Copyright 2019 Dayton DUI.
All Rights Reserved.

9:00 - 17:00

Our Opening Hours Mon. - Fri.

Facebook

Twitter

Search
OVI Menu
 

ohio dui penalties Tag

Dayton DUI Attorney Charles Rowland > Posts tagged "ohio dui penalties"

Ohio’s OVI Forfeiture Law: Can I Sell My Car Before It Gets Forfeited?

Under Ohio's OVI forfeiture law, you are not permitted to sell your car if it is subject to forfeiture.  Ohio's OVI forfeiture law is set forth at R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(b), (c), (d) and (e) and R.C. 4503.233.  Ohio's OVI forfeiture law applies only when:the vehicle is registered to the offender; the vehicle was used in the incident; it is the offender's 3rd OVI conviction within 6 years; it is the offenders 4th or more OVI conviction within 6 years OR 6 within 20years; the offender has a prior felony OVI convictionIn any of these situations, if the title to the motor vehicle that is subject to an order...

Continue reading

Ohio OVI Penalties

Ohio's legislature is constantly tinkering with the OVI statute, R.C. 4511.19.  This can be tough on attorneys trying to provide information in the internet age as internet articles and blog posts are not bio-degradable.  The law changes and old posts do not.  One site that provides constant updates on the current OVI penalties is Judge Jennifer Weiler's site at the Garfield Heights Municipal Court.  Her charts are used in every courtroom in Ohio to keep legal professionals current on Ohio's OVI law.  She has provided an invaluable service. You can find information on Ohio's OVI penalties by clicking here:Ohio Impaired...

Continue reading

Repeat Offenders: Increased Penalties for Multiple OVIs in Ohio

[caption id="" align="alignleft" width="210" caption="Image via Wikipedia"][/caption]A second offense OVI in Ohio will result in mandatory "party plates," ignition interlock devises, a mandatory one year license suspension, mandatory drug/alcohol treatment and increases the mandatory incarceration period to ten (10) consecutive days minimum.  In addition, your vehicle will be immobilized ("clubbed") for 90 days.  If you blow above a .17 or refuse to take the chemical test having had a prior offense within the past twenty (20) years, you will face a twenty (20) day mandatory incarceration period.  All second OVI offenses in Ohio are classified as a first degree misdemeanors.On...

Continue reading