a

Facebook

Twitter

Copyright 2019 Dayton DUI.
All Rights Reserved.

9:00 - 17:00

Our Opening Hours Mon. - Fri.

Facebook

Twitter

Search
OVI Menu
 

operating a vehicle after underage consumption Tag

Dayton DUI Attorney Charles Rowland > Posts tagged "operating a vehicle after underage consumption"

Prom DUI Blitz Underway

Mothers Against Drunk Driving and their partners in law enforcement have begun the annual Prom DUI enforcement blitz that will last throughout the prom season.  So in addition to the tuxedos, the wrist corsages and the awkward pictures; make sure you talk to your teen about drunk driving.  MADD is proclaiming April 21 “PowerTalk21 Day” to encourage parents and teens to talk about alcohol.In recent years, MADD has shifted its focus away from its singular mission of preventing drunk driving, to include an effort to curb underage drinking.  The Prom DUI enforcement is used in conjunction with their efforts at instilling...

Continue reading

Operating A Vehicle After Underage Consumption: Ohio’s Juvenile OVI Law

Ohio has made illegal the practice of operating a vehicle after underage consumption (OVUAC).  O.R.C. 4511.19(B) makes it illegal for persons under 21 years of age to drive a vehicle with a concentration of .02 percent, but less than .08 percent by weight of alcohol by whole blood or breath, or with an equivalent amount by blood serum or plasma or urine.  (1994 S.B. 82, eff. 5/4/94).  In 2004, amended R.C. 4511.19(B) renamed the offense “operating a vehicle after underage consumption” (OVUAC).  These quasi-zero tolerance levels are justified by the fact that this age group accounts for a “disproportionate share of alcohol-related accidents.”...

Continue reading

Ohio DUI Laws: An Overview

This post collects together in one place many of the Ohio DUI Laws that arise in drunk driving cases.   Some Ohio DUI laws are listed because law enforcement will charge these offenses to establish probable cause for pulling over your vehicle.  If you need to find out more about a specific law, or how the statute has been interpreted or applied, call Charles M. Rowland II at (937) 318-1384 or read about the specific Ohio DUI law at the Ohio DUI Law Blog.Operating a Vehicle Impaired (OVI); O.R.C. 4511.19 This is Ohio's drunk driving statute (Ohio's DUI law).  It is a...

Continue reading

Driving Under Suspension in Ohio

Image via WikipediaOhio’s Driving Under Suspension (DUS) law is formidable.  The statutory scheme encompasses over 20 different types of suspensions ranging from Automatic License Suspensions for DUI offenses to suspensions for failing to purchase adequate insurance coverage. Please click on the links below for specific information. If you need additional information on Ohio’s DUS law, or if you find yourself charged with Driving Under Suspension or any of the myriad offense that require contact with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, please contact Dayton traffic attorney Charles M. Rowland II at (937)318-1DUI [318-1384] today. Types of Suspensions in Ohio12-Points Administrative License...

Continue reading

Montgomery County Courts (An Overview)

If you are arrested for DUI in Montgomery County, Ohio, your case will be heard in one of the courts below. Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas.  This court hears all felony level cases including aggravated vehicular homicide, aggravated vehicular assault and felony-enhanced DUI offenses.  The Court is located in the Montgomery County Courts Building at 41 N. Perry Street in downtown Dayton.  The Judges who serve the Montgomery County Court of Common Please are: Dennis Adkins, Steven Dankof, Barbara P. Gorman (Administrative and Presiding Judge), Mary Katherine Huffman, Dennis J. Langer, Frances E. McGee, Timothy N. O’Connell, Connie S. Price, Gregory F. Singer, Michael L. Tucker, and Mary Wiseman.  You can contact the...

Continue reading

Limited Driving Privileges

The Limits on Limited Driving PrivilegesRevised Code 4510.021 authorizes courts to grant "limited driving privileges." The Ohio General Assembly  has taken steps to restrict when a court can grant privileges.   A court cannot grant you driving privileges under the following circumstances: (1) If you have been charged with an OVI or OVUAC the legislature has enacted "hard-time" during which the court cannot grant you privileges.  In effect, they are acting to restrict a court from conforming with the American principle that you are innocent until proven guilty.  This author has taken the position that the ability to drive is a right...

Continue reading

Juvenile OVI (Operating a Vehicle After Underage Consumption)

Juvenile BAC Limit is .02 in Ohio O.R.C. 4511.19(B) makes it illegal for persons under 21 years of age to drive a vehicle with a concentration of .02 percent, but less than .08 percent by weight of alcohol by whole blood or breath, or with an equivalent amount by blood serum or plasma or urine.  (1994 S.B. 82, eff. 5/4/94).  In 2004, amended R.C. 4511.19(B) renamed the offense "operating a vehicle after underage consumption" (OVUAC).  In State v. Gibson, 2000 WL 303134 (Ohio Ct. App. 4th Dist. Ross County 2000), the Fourth Appellate District held that "because the pers se limit for...

Continue reading

Juvenile DUI in Ohio and the Learner’s Permit

My 15 year-old was caught drinking. How will this affect her ability to get her license? Ohio has adopted a very low alcohol level for persons under 21.  R.C. 4511.19(B) sets the BAC level at .02 percent but less than .08 percent (by weight of alcohol by whole blood or breath, or with an equivalent amount by blood serum or plasma or urine).  These quasi-zero tolerance levels are justified by the fact that this age group accounts for a "disproportionate share of alcohol-related accidents." See Ohio Driving Under the Influence Law, 2009-2010 ed., Weiler & Weiler, pp. 24-25.  Juveniles who test...

Continue reading

Dayton DUI/OVI Defense for the Juvenile Defendant

Under 21 DUIs (Operating a Vehicle After Underage Consumption) Ohio has declared "WAR" on underage drinking by passing a series of laws designed to present a "zero tolerance" policy toward under 21 DUI/OVI.  If you are under 21 and test over .02% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) you can face penalties including up to 5 years without a driver's license, as well as up to 30 days in jail and a $250 fine.  An underage DUI (called OVUAC, or, "operating after underage consumption") can have consequences on academic/athletic scholarships, college admission, sports eligibility,job opportunities and may present other harsh unintended consequences.  Given...

Continue reading

Ohio’s Habitual Offender Registry

[caption id="" align="alignright" width="210" caption="Image via Wikipedia"][/caption]If you have an OVI conviction after September 30, 2008 and you have four or more prior OVI (or equivalent) convictions in the past 20 years, you will be placed on the Ohio Habitual Offender Registry.  The Registry includes the name, address, and date of birth of offenders as well as their date of convictions.  The Registry is accessible to the public.  Offenders remain on the Registry until they no longer have five or more offenses within the past 20 years.The following offenses constitute "equivalent...

Continue reading