a

Facebook

Twitter

Copyright 2017 Dayton DUI.
All Rights Reserved.

9:00 - 17:00

Our Opening Hours Mon. - Fri.

937.318.1384

Call 24/7 - Free Consultation!

Facebook

Twitter

Search
OVI Menu
 

Non-Compliance Suspension?

Dayton DUI Attorney Charles Rowland > DUI Law  > Non-Compliance Suspension?

Non-Compliance Suspension?

 NON-COMPLIANCE SUSPENSION

What is a non-compliance suspension? Any driver and/or owner who failing to show proof that they had automobile insurance in effect at the time of an accident/offense/random selection will lose his/her driving and registration privileges for a maximum of two years.  This suspension will stand until the following requirements are met:

  • Carry a certificate of insurance (SR-22/bond) for three years
  • Pay a reinstatement fee

If you get a second non-compliance offense, the penalty is increased. The penalty for a second non-compliance offense in a five-year period is a one-year suspension. The suspension stands until the following requirements are met:

  • Serve one-year suspension
  • Carry a certificate of insurance (SR-22/bond) for five years
  • Pay a reinstatement fee

The penalty for a third non-compliance offense in a five-year period is a two-year suspension. The suspension stands until the following requirements are met:

  • Serve two-year suspension
  • Carry a certificate of insurance (SR-22/bond) for five years
  • Pay a reinstatement fee

The suspension can be removed if valid proof of coverage at the time of the traffic stop or accident is provided to the BMV.

How Do I Fix This?

non-compliance suspensionThere are two important things you need to do. First, consult an attorney. Problems with your license not being valid can snowball. A non-compliance suspension can cause massive problems with the courts and the BMV. Charles M. Rowland II, DaytonDUI, can help you navigate through the process. Second, if you are not sure if your license is valid you can find out by going to the BMV’s website.

Depending on the reason for your driver’s license suspension, you may be able to request a hearing if you want to contest the suspension. Generally, to request a hearing/appeal your suspension, you must either:

  • Mail a written hearing request to:
    Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
    P.O. Box 16784
    Columbus, OH 43216

Most administrative hearing requests must be made within 30 days after receiving your suspension notice. For more information on requesting a hearing/appeal for specific types of suspensions, read the Driver’s License Reinstatement Procedures, or contact the Ohio BMV at (844) 644-6268.

How To Reinstate Your Suspended License

To reinstate your suspended license, you’ll generally need to:

  • Wait-out the duration of your suspension.
  • Satisfy any court requirements/fines, if applicable.
  • Complete a remedial driving course, if required.
  • Retake and pass the driving knowledge and skills tests, if required.
  • File and maintain SR22 car insurance for 3 – 5 years, for non-compliance suspensions.
  • Pay your reinstatement fees.

How To Pay Your Reinstatement Fees

In addition to the steps above, your need to pay your reinstatement fee. Your reinstatement fees can be paid:

  • By mail to the address above, or the address noted on your suspension notice.
  • In person at your local Ohio BMV office.
  • By phone by calling 1-866-OPLATES (675-2837).
  • Online at the Ohio BMV website.

If you visit an OH BMV office, you may need to provide proof of your identity and Ohio residency. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles’ website provides a list of acceptable proofs.

What can you do?

  • Call my office right away.
  • Set up a free consultation.
  • Get your paperwork together.
  • Visit the suspending court.
  • Do not get discouraged.
  • Obtain your court papers.
  • Pull your driving record.
  • Copy your paperwork.
  • Copy and save your emails.
  • Make multiple inquiries.
  • Don’t give up.
  • Call the BMV before our meeting.

I have handled thousands of DUI cases. We can obtain limited driving privileges. We get your life back!

Charles Rowland

charlie@daytondui.com

Charles M. Rowland II has been representing the accused drunk driver for over 20 years. Contact him at (937) 318-1384 if you find yourself facing a DUI (now called OVI) charge.

No Comments

Leave a Comment